Virginia Tech®home

Climate Action Commitment Implementation Contacts

Climate Action Commitment Implementation Contacts

For more general questions, please email sustainability@vt.edu or call (540) 231-1091

For questions about Climate Action Commitment Implementation goals and how you can get involved, please see the list of contacts below:

Goal 1. Carbon Neutrality

John Randolph – Senior Fellow for Climate Action, energy@vt.edu, (540) 231-7714

Sean McGinnis – Associate Progressor and Director of the Green Engineering Program, smcginn@vt.edu, 540-231-1446

Goal 2. 100% Renewable Electricity

Steve Durfee – Campus Energy Manager, sdurfee@vt.edu, (540) 230-6078

Matt Hagy – Interim Associate Director for Utilities, mhagy1@vt.edu, (540) 231-6437

Mary-Ann Ibeziako – Chief Sustainability Officer, maryann@vt.edu, (540) 231-4135

Goal 3. Energy System Efficiency and Total Steam Plant Conversion to Natural Gas

Kim Briele – Director of Engineering and Assessment, sbriele@vt.edu, (540) 231-8772

Goal 4. Existing Building Energy Efficiency

Steve Durfee – Campus Energy Manager, sdurfee@vt.edu, (540) 230-6078

Lowell Jessee – Energy Engineer, ljessee@vt.edu, (540) 231-7305

Goal 5. New Building Energy Efficiency

Paul Ely – Associate Director of Capital Construction, paulely@vt.edu, (540) 231-3689

Steve Durfee – Campus Energy Manager, sdurfee@vt.edu, (540) 230-6078

Goal 6. Agricultural, Forestry, and Land Use Operations

Jamie King – University Arborist, campusarborist@vt.edu, (540) 231-3718

Patrick Hilt – Director of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Facilities, philt@vt.edu, (540) 231-9405

Goal 7. Zero-Waste Campus

Teresa Sweeney – Program Consultant and Engagement Specialist, msrecycle247@vt.edu, (540) 998-5707

Nathan King – Campus Sustainability Manager, naking@vt.edu, (540) 231-7358

Rob Lowe – Senior Environmental Engineer, rlowe@vt.edu, 540) 231-2510

Blake Bensman – Sustainability Manager for Dining and Residence Life, bensman@vt.edu, (540) 231-3064

Goal 8. Establish the Sustainable Procurement Policy and Procedures

Mary Helmick - Director of Procurement, mhelmick@vt.edu, (540) 231-6211

Goal 9. Transportation GHG Emissions Reduction

Nick Quint – Transportation Network Manager & Interim Fleet Services Manager, nquint@vt.edu, (540) 231-2701

Goal 10. Climate Action Living Laboratory (CALL)

Todd Schenk – Assistant Professor for Urban Affairs and Planning, tschenk@vt.edu, (540) 231-1803

John Randolph – Senior Fellow for Climate Action, energy@vt.edu, (540) 231-7714

Goal 11. Climate Justice

Jack Leff – Graduate Assistant for the Office of Sustainability, leffjr@vt.edu

John Randolph – Senior Fellow for Climate Action, energy@vt.edu, (540) 231-7714

Goal 12. Sustainable Choices and Behavior

Nathan King – Campus Sustainability Manager, naking@vt.edu, (540) 231-7358

Todd Schenk – Assistant Professor for Urban Affairs and Planning, tschenk@vt.edu, (540) 231-1803

Blake Bensman – Sustainability Manager for Dining and Residence Life, bensman@vt.edu, (540) 231-3064

Goal 13. CAC Implementation and Engagement

John Randolph – Senior Fellow for Climate Action, energy@vt.edu, (540) 231-7714

Mary-Ann Ibeziako – Chief Sustainability Officer, maryann@vt.edu, (540) 231-4135

Todd Schenk – Assistant Professor for Urban Affairs and Planning, tschenk@vt.edu, (540) 231-1803

Goal 14. Innovative Financing

Travis Hundley – Director of Budget Operations, thundley@vt.edu, (540) 231-4475

Mary-Ann Ibeziako – Chief Sustainability Officer, maryann@vt.edu, (540) 231-4135

John Randolph – Senior Fellow for Climate Action, energy@vt.edu, (540) 231-7714

Goal 15. Toward 2050 Fossil Fuel Free

John Randolph – Senior Fellow for Climate Action, energy@vt.edu, (540) 231-7714

Sean McGinnis – Associate Progressor and Director of the Green Engineering Program, smcginn@vt.edu, 540-231-1446

Nathan King – Campus Sustainability Manager, naking@vt.edu, (540) 231-7358

A printable version of this list can be found here.